Virtually no change in the office holders at BPCA. Annual awards presented

LinkedIn +

The 68th Annual General meeting of the British Pest Control Association (BPCA) was held at their offices in Derby on 18 May.

In the chair was BPCA president, Martina Flynn, who ensured all the statutory parts of the event were completed in near record time. The room, virtually full to bursting with BPCA members, unanimously passed all the motions presented, virtually without comment.

With the exception of honorary treasurer, the association’s office holders remain unchanged for another year. Notably, Martina Flynn (from BASF) continues as president, Henry Mott (Conquer Pest Control) as deputy president with Nigel Binns (Pestex Services) as immediate past president. For the last year Ross Graham of Graham Environmental Services has undertaken the role of treasurer, but work commitments have prevented him from continuing for a further year. The appointment of Richard Jones (Envirocare UK) was proposed and accepted.

In her speech summarising the past year’s activities, Martina acknowledged that it had been a tricky time with the departure of the association’s CEO but she thanked all the BPCA staff for their hard work keeping things running smoothly. She selected the formation of the Pest Control Alliance as a highlight of the year saying: “Pest control is a fragmented industry. Goals such as the current battle to retain the use of anticoagulant rodenticides will only be achieved if the industry works together in one accord.”

Traditionally the AGM has always been the occasion for BPCA to present their annual awards. This year the Charles Keeble award presented to the most outstanding candidate in the BPC Accredited Technician in Pest Control went to Dee Ward-Thompson of Cannon Pest Control. Russell Gayfer from Connaught Compliance Pest Prevention was presented the John Bull award for the candidate who achieves the highest mark in the Fumigation diploma. A new award covering the best overall achievement in on-line learning, and presented in memory of Malcolm Hadler, went to David Harbinson of Shropshire Pest Control.

Life membership of BPCA is bestowed on individuals in recognition of a life time’s service to BPCA and the industry in general. Selected to join this elite group was Fiona Murphy who is shortly to retire from Ecolab and also John Charlton who, after very many years, is stepping-down from BPCA involvement, but unfortunately was not at the meeting.

After the formal part of the meeting, Iain Whatley as chairman of the Servicing Committee gave a presentation highlighting the value of the PROMPT scheme run by BASIS. Introduced some years ago, uptake has been disappointing with only 420 accredited members in the UK – a level regarded by BASIS as uneconomic to administer. With requirements on the horizon where proof of professionalism will be mandatory, the plea from Ian was very much along the lines of: “Use it, or lose it.” In his position as chair of the BASIS PROMPT Steering Committee, Tony Harman reminded the audience that: “Self-regulation is far preferable to legislation.” For the future, plans are in hand to revitalise the perception of the scheme. In the longer five-year term, BPCA is to enact the motion previously passed by members to require all practising technicians of member companies to be PROMPT registered.


 BPCA officers In the chair, president Martina Flynn

Voting All motions unanimously passed 

Award winners – Russell and Dee

Fiona Murphy 
New life member – Fiona Murphy

BPCA Exec Board
The new BPCA Executive Board
Front row, left to right:
Lewis Jenkins (Check Services), Martina Flynn (BASF), Jenny Humphrey (DRE Pest Control),
Helen Ainsworth (Certis), Nigel Binns (Pestex Services)
Middle row
Richard Strand (Pest Information Consultancy), Paul Hoyes (Killgerm), Henry Mott (Conquer Pest Control), David Heaton (K&S Fumigation Services), Iain Urquhart (Advanced Pest Management)
Back row
Simon Forrester, Martin Harvey (Harvey Environmental Services), Iain Whatley (EnviroGuard (UK)), Andy Purcell (Ecolab) and Richard Jones (Envirocare GB) 

Share this story:

About Author