RSPH announces future of the Level 2 qualification

LinkedIn +

Following debate and discussion within the industry, the RSPH has announced the future for the RSPH/BPCA Certificate in Pest Control (Level 2) qualification.

The announcement has recently been made by the Royal Society for Public Health (RSPH) that from July 2010, there should be two new qualifications for the pest management sector:

• The Level 2 Award in Pest Management
• The Level 2 Certificate in Pest Management

RSPH’s Richard Burton explains: “Following extensive consultation with the industry both of these new qualifications are being submitted to the regulatory authorities for approval.”

As previously reported this change was brought about due to the new Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) standardising qualification descriptions. The status quo was not an option as new government regulations meant that the old Level 2 Certificate in Pest Control could not continue in its present form.

The new Award in Pest Management is essentially the current Level 2 Certificate in Pest Control. It will be offered by all the existing RSPH approved centres and will provide the theoretical underpinning knowledge pest controllers require. It will consist of three units: vertebrate pests, invertebrate pests and health &safety/legal aspects. Assessment will be the same as for the existing qualification.

Richard Burton
Richard Burton from RSPH 

The new Level 2 Certificate will comprise the same three units plus there will be two ‘technique’ units. This will add a practical element to the training; something which many in the industry felt was missing from the old qualification. Adding in the extra units will also extend the size of the qualification so that it qualifies as a Certificate. The practical units will be assessed by the centres.

However, centres will only be allowed to offer the new Certificate once their assessment procedures have been verified and approved. RSPH is also keen to point out that there is no need for candidates to obtain the Level 2 Award before taking the Level 2 Certificate. The two are stand-alone qualifications that share some common units. “The Level 2 Certificate is intended for new entrants to the profession and should provide a sound basis for them,” says Richard.

Share this story:

About Author